Advise on beginning a Chef implementation - A Newbie's Questions

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Chef and just started to play around with it a couple of weeks back, starting off with managing Windows.

While I am new to Chef, I have used other proprietary configuration management tools before such as Microsoft SCCM, among others. My approach may be wrong but I am trying to compare the process between using something like that (eg. SCCM) against Chef.

1. So typically, what would be done would be to create a template (for a vm, for example) where the necessary agents are installed. After booting a new instance of the vm from the template, the agent would automatically run and register itself with the management server (eg. SCCM server).
    In the case of Chef, from the tutorials, it appears that we would need to bootstrap each of these individual new machines. Is it possible to pre-install the chef-client on a template to perform sort of a ‘reverse bootstrap’ process where once the machine boots up, it would attempt to contact and register itself with a predefined Chef server instead?

2. Whenever any machine that has already been registered with the management server has been decommisioned, it could be automatically removed from the database based on certain criteria.
    With Chef, it seems that each of these machines would need to be deleted from either the web interface or the console manually. Is it possible to automate this? Or perhaps just change its status (in a custom attribute perhaps from ‘in production’ to ‘deleted’, for example)?

3. For existing production servers, there are usually tools to automate the deployment of the agents.
    In a Chef environment, what are the common ways to bootstrap and distribute chef-clients in mass?

Again, as I’m new to Chef, my approach and take to these could be wrong but I’m just trying to see how this can be streamlined into existing processes.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Shaun

Hi,