Chef gem install knife-vsphere seems to install properly but chef gem list doent show it

Hi,

I am a chef rookie but learning fairly quick. Was wanting to use the knife-vsphere plugin so I recently installed using… chef gem install knife-vsphere

The results are below. It appears to install fine. However when I try to determine if the plugin installed… it does not show.

This works on a window 7 box but not on a windows 10 box.

C:\Windows\system32>chef gem install knife-vsphere
Successfully installed netaddr-1.5.1
Successfully installed filesize-0.1.1
Successfully installed knife-vsphere-1.2.11
Parsing documentation for netaddr-1.5.1
Parsing documentation for filesize-0.1.1
Parsing documentation for knife-vsphere-1.2.11
Done installing documentation for netaddr, filesize, knife-vsphere after 2 seconds
3 gems installed

C:\Windows\system32>chef gem list knife*

*** LOCAL GEMS ***

knife-spork (1.6.1)
knife-windows (1.4.0)

I do see the gem file installed under
C:\Users\Lance_Lyons\AppData\Local\chefdk\gem\ruby\2.1.0\gems\knife-vsphere-1.2.11

what am I doing wrong? Thanks in advance.

It looks like my issue is that I dont have the GEM_PATH setup properly for both chefdk up my local profile and the one installed in c:/opscode. On the working instance I have both…

GEM PATHS:
    - C:/Users/lance_lyons/AppData/Local/chefdk/gem/ruby/2.1.0
    - C:/opscode/chefdk/embedded/lib/ruby/gems/2.1.0

On the instance that isnt working properly I only have one.

GEM PATHS:
    - C:/opscode/chefdk/embedded/lib/ruby/gems/2.1.0

I have tried a few things to set via powershell but none of them are working including the one below.

PS C:\Windows\system32> $env:GEM_PATH = “$env:USERPROFILE\appdata\local\chefdk\gem\ruby\2.1.0;C:\opscode\chefdk\embedded\lib\ruby\gems\2.1.0”