Chef Infra Client certificate trust requirement

Hello everyone,
I am new to Chef, even though I have many years of experience in systems management. I hope that somebody from development will find this useful.
In no way this is a rant post, even though it might sound like one for somebody. I mean no disrespect and my intention is to provide feedback to hopefully make product better.

I'd like to talk about Client <-> Server SSL trust requirement. This one is very common nowadays. Lots of services/products/tools/etc require that communication is happening over https and that server certificate should be trusted by client. It makes sense in some scenarios, but not everywhere. I understand why https requirement for data-in-transit protection is so common, but trust... Think about it.
First, server certificate. In ideal world server has publicly trusted certificate, valid, rotated properly, and so on. In real life certificate is likely to be issued by internal CA or remain self-signed, validity period may expire (we all humans and we make mistakes, forget things) and I can think of bunch of other reasons why certificate is there but deemed not to be trusted by clients. Suddenly expired certificate should not prevent clients from keep working with server. Service has to be resilient - i.e. it should keep working even with some errors around. It is OK to log warnings, to somehow else bring administrator's attention to the fact that certificate trust is a generally good thing, but to stop working altogether is way too severe.