Chef Provisioning and Orchestration

Ohai Chefs,

I’m starting to look at alternatives for the current deployment and orchestration methods here and was wondering on the capabilities of Chef Provisioning.

I’ve never used Chef provisioning before so a couple of basic questions first might help me on my way and then I’ll ask a few orchestration related questions.

So:-

1. How does chef provisioning store state? As in you have chef provisioning code which states to create machine “foo” in AWS, how does Chef map that created instance id or Chef node to that resource in code for idempotency?

2. Can recipes reference resources created in another recipe? So say a recipe is used to create a bunch of machines and attach them to a load balancer in one recipe, can another recipe then reference those machines and remove them from the load balancer?

‘What is on about?’ you may ask. I know that Chef provisioning can support a full tear down of infrastructure and recreation. I can also see that you could probably tear down an individual layer and remake based on specific recipes, but what about something like blue-green for the web layer in a separate recipe (and rollback in another recipe).

One of the problems I see is that Chef provisioning uses named resources.
For example, you have a recipe which stands up your stack and your current web layer is created by a machine_batch statement called “web layer blue” and is attached to a load balancer. If you want to deploy a release then you need to stand up your “web layer green,” test they provisioned okay, then add green to your load balancer and take off blue.
If all goes well and there’s no rollback then green becomes blue for the next deploy so you can run the same code. How can this be handled in Chef provisioning if the chef code states the the name of the resource by reference?

How have people tackled this?