GIT to manage cookbooks

Hi,

I am not that new to chef but I am new to git with chef. What I would like to do is manage all of the cookbooks using git and updating the chef server the same way bypassing knife. Is there a write up on how to do this? Is this even recommended?

Thanks!

1 Like

How were you managing them before?
I use 1 git repo per cookbook… so the cookbook itself is a git repo…

The chef server doesn’t even care what you use to manage and has no understanding of the git files really… chef cares about the metadata.rb for example as thats how information and specifically the version for a cookbook is read/stored from

there is no way to ‘bypass’ knife / berks / any other tool to upload to the chef server (this is just a small constraint your workflow must learn to exploit) as in… have your cookbooks be in git… have some kind of testing for those git repod cookbooks (use it in CI) let your CI decide things are ‘good’ and then push up to the chef server when your tests pass or something like that.

thats up to you to implement… but git itself wont do anything from the chef servers point of view. Your team and workflows need that.

Thanks, I am using GIT for the cookbooks themselves. I should have been a little more clear. I was just looking at adopting a workflow that would allow the chef server to be updated automagically by either pulling the repositories or getting the repositories pushed to it. It seems like the latter is what is being used currently. We are a smaller shop but I wanted to get this in place early in case we expand out. We also are using Jenkins so maybe have Jenkins push to Chef?

Managing cookbooks with git is as easy as managing any other code with git. The only question is whether you create one git repository for each cookbook, or a single monolithic one.

The general recommendation seems to be a separate git repo for each cookbook.