node?

Thanks

Irvin

You can use the -s option when calling chef-client:

$ chef-client -h
Usage: chef-client (options)

-s, --splay SECONDS The splay time for running at intervals, in seconds

On Monday, July 30, 2012 at 4:20 PM, Irvin Fan wrote:

I'm new to chef and still trying to understand how it works. I searched the FAQ and couldn't find the answer to this. Please forgive me if the question has been answered before.

Let's say I have 100 nodes running chef-client daemon. If I update the config for those nodes in chef-server my understanding is that all those chef-clients will detect the changes for its own node and go ahead to do whatever the recipes say to do. How can I control the process synchronously. I don't want all my 100 nodes updating at the same time because the update process may require restarting Apache. I know one way to do it is to run the chef-client in non-daemon mode. e.g. run "knife ssh chef-client" on nodes one by one. I'm wondering is it possible to still run the chef-client in daemon mode but control the process on server side so that the update happens one node at a time? Maybe I can update the setting one node at a time. But how can I know the chef-client on a particular node is done so that I can move to update the setting for next node?

Thanks

Irvin

Hi Daniel,

Thanks for the tip. I think it works even though I was looking for a more
precise control.

Irvin

On Mon, Jul 30, 2012 at 4:23 PM, Daniel Condomitti daniel@condomitti.comwrote:

$ chef-client -h
-s, --splay SECONDS The splay time for running at
intervals, in seconds

I'm new to chef and still trying to understand how it works. I searched
the FAQ and couldn't find the answer to this. Please forgive me if the
question has been answered before.

Let's say I have 100 nodes running chef-client daemon. If I update the
config for those nodes in chef-server my understanding is that all those
chef-clients will detect the changes for its own node and go ahead to do