Locking chef-client version after updating


#1

After updating the chef-client version (via the following method > https://docs.chef.io/upgrade_client.html ) on some nodes in our environment, there was the lovely warning about production servers and pinning the client version, so as not to receive automatic updates, I presume, and break the nodes and their setup, etc.

I have found some references to pinning or locking the client version on the nodes, for example, here > Bootstrapping a node without internet access , but no specific instruction about how to lock the version and relieving my worry of an automatic update that disrupts out setup.

Any reference to instruction or specific steps are appreciated.

Thank you.