Overriding files/templates for kitchen runs

In my cookbook, some files and templates are generated by an external tool during build time. So these files do not exist in the cookbook’s “source code” when I work on this cookbook. But if I want to test my recipes I need these files, and the only way I found is putting dummy files inside the cookbook files/templates folders, which is not too great. I’d like to put these files in the test-related folders.

When doing a kitchen run, is there a way to specify a templates/files folder different from the one of the cookbook, as you can with attrbiutes and data bags?
Or is there another solution to my problem.

PS: I’m new to Chef, Inspec, Ruby, so don’t hesitate to point the obvious.

Could you provide an example of these auto generated template files? Are they .erb files? What do you mean by creating dummy files under templates/default ? Aren’t you using the auto generated template files? Sorry for the tons of questions… just trying to understand your usecase

My cookbook deploys jars/wars to a tomcat server. These files are stored in a maven repository and I do not want to store them in the cookbook (which is in version control).
So I have a project containing my cookbook, as source code, and a gradle build script that collects the files from the repository and builds a package containing the cookbook with the jars in the “files” folder. This full cookbook can then be deployed. But the “source” cookbook" still has its “files” folder empty.
I’d like to be able to test this “source” cookbook while I work on it, with dummy files in the tests folder and not in the files folder.
Typically I would like to have a templates_path or files_path in the kitchen config, just as there is a data_bags_path.

Or another solution to avoid mixing test data with dev data.