Powershell_exec result to variable/attirbute

Hi All, I'm fairly new to Chef and I need to get the result of a powershell script into a variable to be used later in the recipe. I've googled this quite a bit and I know this question has been asked before, but nothing I've found allows me to get the result I'm looking for. Here's what I'm attempting to do and not getting any errors, but the 'puts "#{result}" command just writes "#Chef::PowerShell:0x00000000098d3c28" to the console.

powershell_script 'get-newest-tag' do
code <<-EOH
(([Xml] (svn log --xml "http://path_to_svn/" --verbose --username "username" --password 
"password")).Log.LogEntry.Paths.Path | ? { $_.action -eq 'A' -and $_.InnerText -match 
"^/required/path/Site_\d{4}_\d{2}_\d{2}$"} | Select -Property @(@{N='date'; E= 
{$_.ParentNode.ParentNode.Date}},@{N='path'; E={$_.InnerText}}) | Sort Date -Descending | Select 
-First 1).path
EOH

result = powershell_exec(code)
puts "#{result}"
end

As I said, when I run the recipe I get no errors and if I run the code in a Powershell command window I get the expected result which is a path to a tag directory in the repo.

I feel like I must be close but still missing something simple/stupid.

All help and suggestions are appreciated.

We use powershell_out, for example:
count = powershell_out('(Get-ChildItem -path "D:\Program Files\MyApplication\SubFolder\Wait").Count').stdout.to_i

Thanks for the reply craigontour. If I use powershell_out() as you have suggested with .stdout.to_i it does log "0" to the console but I'm hoping for a string response with a path. I've tried to do the same thing with stdout.to_json and stdout.to_str but those both output nothing to the console. Not sure if it's null or an empty string but I'm still in the same position.

As I said before I know the command in "code" does what I expect on the powershell command line, but I'm not sure how to test that it's even doing the same thing from within the recipe.