Provide debconf variable from data bag? (Newbie)

I’m just starting to learn my way around chef by designing recipes and cookbooks to install a distributed application.

One of the first things I need to do is install mariadb on one of my servers. Because many recipes will need the database root password, I’ve put the root password in a data bag. (I think that’s an appropriate choice, no?)

To install the database server, a recipe will have a section similar to:

package 'database-server' do
   package_name 'mariadb-server'
   action [:install]
end

My question: how can I take the root password out of the databag and supply it to dpkg so that the database server installation succeeds and the root password is the one I gave?

The debconf variable names needed (from debconf-get-selections) are, I believe, mysql-server/root_password and mysql-server/root_password_again.

Basically you just need to create a debian pressed file and run debconf-set-selections FILE_PATH. Be sure to set the DEBIAN_FRONTEND env var to “noninteractive” so it doesn’t pop up a modal dialog. You could do that manually with a template file and execute resource, which might be the easiest way.

Chef also has built-in support for this in the package resource, but it can be a bit tricky to use. if you want to use it, create a template for the response file, then set the response_file property on the resource. Standard naming convention is $package_name.seed.erb. You set the variables to pass in with the response_file_variables property (it’s a Hash, like you would give to a normal template resource). Then the package resource should automatically find the template and evaluate it and run debconf-set-selections for you when installing.