Run entire chef recipe as 'ubuntu' user, not 'root' user

Hi guys,

I’m new to chef and am trying to setup my AWS OpsWorks instances using a pretty simple chef script.

I need all of these commands to be run as ‘ubuntu’ user from the ‘/home/ubuntu’ directory, but I haven’t found a way to do this successfully.

I’ve tried pretty much every solution I can find to no avail, including…

It seems like this should be some thing easily solved in the metadata.rb file right? This is best practice for all server management and AWS doesn’t even allow root ssh access by default so I think this needs to be better clarified in the documentation, unless I’ve just missed something obvious.

Thanks for any help!

~ Kyle

So you can run bash/execute/etc resources as another user, typically needing to set the user and environment variables. That said, Chef is designed to configure servers and most of those operations will require root-level access to perform, so that’s not exactly a traditional use case to run an entire recipe as another user.

Nathan Clemons

DevOps Engineer

Moxie Cloud Services (MCS)

O +1.425.467.5075

M +1.360.861.6291

E nclemons@gomoxie.com

W www.gomoxie.comhttp://www.gomoxie.com/

Can I ask what you’re actually trying to achieve in more detail? Like why do you need it to run as the ubuntu user? Chef expects to run as root and while it is possible to run certain pieces of a recipe as another user if you want or need to, you probably won’t be able to run an entire Chef run as a non-root user, even a privileged non-root user.

You should be able to achieve this by leaving out owner/user/group on all of your resources, and running chef-client as the ubuntu user.

Quick test:

$ whoami
centos
$ echo "directory '/tmp/directory'" > dir.rb
$ chef-apply dir.rb
Recipe: (chef-apply cookbook)::(chef-apply recipe)
  * directory[/tmp/directory] action create
    - create new directory /tmp/directory
$ ls -ld /tmp/directory