What's your habitat workflow, how are you testing template data? plus a few more :)

Hello Everyone

@bixu from the slack channel suggested that I post my questions here.

:wave: I'm only getting started within habitat (sorry for being a bit late to the party :slight_smile: I've being getting to know habitat by build a concourse cluster, being a 3 tier arch its been good fun getting it up and running using binds, so I'm nearly at the end of that experiment now (in that I have it working). I've had to learn how to do things in certain way which I wanted to share but also find out how other people where developing apps in habitat. I plan on writing it up, maybe for a blog post or something or just serve as a reminder for me in the future. :slight_smile:

• Template Data
    The docs have a great break down of what's there but I wondered if there was a was I could walk around what was available and look at their values. for example in studio, can I do something like puts {{sys.ip}} or would I need to pry within the init hook to have a look around? outside studio I can see there's a hab sup bash not sure when I would need that but within that can I see for example {{sys.member_id}}

• Packaging workflow
    There was a lot of trial and error packaging up concourse, errors in my init or run hooks, syntax errors with my handle bar logic or missing binary arguments etc, whilst within studio it would build, I wasn't able to start the package I built so with each iteration I was having to building a new package,
    hab pkg build . -R
    hab pkg install results/root-concourse-version-buildnumber*.hart ,
    hab svc unload root/concourse-worker
    hab svc load root/concourse-worker/version/buildnumber --bind web:concourse-web.default
    check the terminal running the supervisor and see the error and back in studio and iterate again. So is there a better way?

• Logs
    How do I see the supervisor logs if I start habitat as a service? when does running sup-log work?