Chef Beginner: Tutorial and basic Q's

I’m a beginner in Chef. Had few Q’s and need good tutorials to understand every part of a cookbook.

My main requirement is chef solo as we are as of now not using any chef servers and everything we do is from Local.

1. Whats the difference between chef solo and chef-client --local-mode? What I understand, they both are same just prev version(before v11) referred them as solo and now local mode?
  2. I need a tutorial that does a basic step by step process of explaining every part of cookbook like recipe, runlists, data bags, environment. Have referred learn.chef.io, but I need something more specific to chef client local mode.
  3. Do we also have a tutorial where a user can run a recipe to install say JAVA from their own central repository and should be chef client local mode.
  1. As of Chef 12.10+ if you run chef-solo you are effectively getting chef-client --local-mode. Prior to this they were not the same, chef-solo was a fundamentally different code path than chef-client. Local mode was introduced so that users could easily transition from chef-solo to chef-client.

2. There is nothing really specific to chef-client --local-mode as the mechanics of Chef don’t really change. Learn.chef.io is still the best resource for learning about chef and the primitives it offers.

3. Similar to above there isn’t anything specific to `chef-client --local-mode. There is a Java cookbook on the supermarket that may meet your needs but if the cookbook is highly specific to your environment, then writing your own would make sense.