Dealing with unavailable resources

I am a real newbie.
We use gitlab/chef/kitchen(AWS) to develop server configs, then deploy to OVH to run a custom webservice written mostly in PHP.
Then chef-client runs hourly to keep everything up-to-date.

We are using php-pear and installing Archive_Tar through it.

At this moment the pear site is down. Our recipe includes

package 'php-pear' do
action :install
end

php_pear 'Archive_Tar' do
action :install
end

as a result of which our chef-client process is aborting.

Now on previously-running servers the chance of either of those making a functional difference is close to zero. So I could happily add

ignore_failure true

to both of them.

Similarly if I am simply testing my chef scripting in kitchen, I don't really care whether Tar_Archive is successfully installed or not.

However if
I am intending to try my application code on the VM that kitchen builds for me
I am building a new OVH server from scratch to run the app.
Then I probably SHOULD about because the pear site is down ( Lord knows what we do if it stays down )

So my question is - how would more experienced heads deal with this? Do I need to make the 'ignore_failure' conditional on the environment?

Only you can know what makes sense for your organization given time, resources, culture, legacy systems being supported, etc.

There are several considerations.

• how critical is the requested operation
  • does is block any critical functions and what is the impact
  • how often does this happen
  • what could be done to mitigate it

Only you can answer if they are critical for your use case and company. For example if it was removing a user from a server during a revoke you probably want to make sure chef blows up so your monitoring will catch it and alert someone. Conversely if it was installing some non required dev tool you might make a lot of sense.