Knife bootstrap windows winrm just hangs with no error or success

I’m new to chef and am attempting to bootstrap a Windows 2012r2 VM. I’m following the LearnChef Windows route and am attempting to bootstrap using:

knife bootstrap windows winrm 10.100.23.111 --winrm-user ‘{domainname}\svc_chefnode’ --winrm-password ‘svc_chef’ --node-name tst-chef-node-1 --run-list ‘recipe[learn_chef_iis]’

I have the user “SVC_ChefNode” created in the domain and have tested that it can login and has local admin rights.

When I run this the command will just hang without any errors and I’ve even let it sit overnight with no changes.

I can verify that the wsman is available:
knife wsman test 10.100.23.111 --manual-list
Connected successfully to 10.100.23.111 at http://10.100.23.111:5985/wsman.

I’m using the free hosted Chef server. The workstation is Windows 10 behind a proxy and can reach it, but the server is not behind a proxy. I’m not sure if this is causing the problem, but I figured I’d add it just in case.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks,

if this is a domain user, its best to preface the \ with the domain, otherwise omit the backslash.

It was. I just removed it and put in the placeholder '{domainname}…" to hide my domain.

Just to test if if there was something wrong with my Win10 install of the ChefDK, I deployed a new Windows 2012 R2 VM and installed the ChefDK on that and attempted to run the bootstrap command. It does the same thing and just hangs there. I had a colleague that uses a Mac run the command on his workstation and it works perfectly from the Mac.

Is there a bug here that if causing this?

Try adding -l debug to include debug level logging and possibly provide some hints as to what may be the source of the hang.

Hi Jason,

I have gone through a similar issue a few months ago and its resolved now.

I can help you resolve this , if I could connect remotely to your laptop via team viewer or something.

My whatsapp number : +91 7075575999