Knife not communicating with Chef Server

I am very new to Chef even though we use it where I am employed. I have decided to teach my self Chef and I installed a server and a workstation then I configured knife on the workstation built my first cookbook and recipe, uploaded cookbook to chef server. So when I tried to Bootstrap a node it wouldn't communicate with the server kept giving me the following error:
[2019-01-31T18:38:45+00:00] ERROR: Error connecting to https://cfchef12.cfs.loc/organizations/coopfire/nodes/cfPEXP, retry 1/5

So I look at the .pem files they were fine then I looked at the cert and it was fine so then I ssh'd to the server and checked the ssh keys and they were fine.

So I saw a post in passing and it was just two words in an inconspicuous line, /etc/host and then I remember in my setup the virtual hosts actually write the configs for the containers and vms and it only adds this (127.0.0.1) to the /etc/hosts, /etc/hostname (is only the host not the fqdn), resolve.conf only had nameserver 127.0.0.1........

1st do this
vim /etc/hostname
change server to server.example.dom

next do the following.

in /etc/hosts
put your ip in here with your fqdn ex server.example.com server
copy and paste the following in it.
127.0.1.1 sever.example.dom server
127.0.0.1. server.exmple.dom server
1xX.xXX.xxx.xxx server.example.dom <- Change this to your actual ip

/etc/resolv.conf
I have 2 local DNS servers in my network so I had to check the resolv.conf
so in it it had just a single line:
nameserver 127.0.0.1 <- remove this

I had to add this to the file and remove the above
nameserver 1XX.xXX.xxx.xx1
nameserver 1XX.xXX.xxx.xx2
nameserver 8.8.8.8

So after I did those changes and by the way no reboots are necessary at all.
Then I went to the workstation and ran the knife bootstrap and everything work fine the client ran on the node I needed it and it did what I asked it to.