Lowering Chef development iterations

Hi guys,

I’m new to chef and on my new job

1. I have to copy a recipe
  2. Upload it to a chef server
  3. Run it on the client. Sometimes it seems to get stuck and I have a nuke the whole EC2 instance

With can take like 30 minutes every time I try something out. Which I want to do a lot of since I’m new to this.

I did notice https://www.safaribooksonline.com/blog/2015/06/04/super-charged-chef-cookbook-development/ but that looks massively complicated way of doing it. Am I missing a trick?

The part you are probably missing is Test Kitchen. It replaces all three steps with kitchen converge, along with a framework for writing tests so you aren’t inspecting the results manually.

1 Like

Yes, you can use chef-solo, vagrant and test kitchen to do test driven
infrastructure.
So you’ll test local, then deploy of chef master when working

1 Like

Thanks, I don't necessarily want to setup some testing framework. I just want to kick the tires and such to better understand the syntax that I wish was straight up shell :wink:

Like, how do I validate a recipe and such in order to check it doesn't have syntax errors and such?

Like, how do I validate a recipe and such in order to check it doesn't have syntax errors and such?

You can use rubocop and foodcritic to identify most issues. Chefspec (an extension of rspec) will quickly do a converge to catch any remaining issues.

Beyond that, you will probably want to use test-kitchen for TDD. It's really very quick and simple -- I git clone and kitchen verify all the time on Github repos for cookbooks I haven't used before; the longest part is waiting for the converge to pull down binaries or install packages, and test-kitchen can cache much of that too.

1 Like

Another thing I don’t quite understand about the kitchen based iterations. Once you have a machine running, do you destroy & converge to test a new change? Because even then it seems to take ~5mins.