Undefined method error (testing chef recipe)

Hi:

Chef newbie here. I'm testing the vault cookbook (GitHub - bloomberg/vault-cluster-cookbook: Application cookbook which installs and configures Vault with Consul as a backend.). When I attempt to do a bootstrap with the recipe added to the run-list, I get the following error:

Recipe Compile Error in /var/chef/cache/cookbooks/vault-cluster/recipes/default.rb

NoMethodError

undefined method `bag_item' for VaultCookbook::Resource::VaultConfig

Cookbook Trace:

/var/chef/cache/cookbooks/hashicorp-vault/recipes/default.rb:23:in `block (2 levels) in from_file'
 /var/chef/cache/cookbooks/hashicorp-vault/recipes/default.rb:23:in `each_pair'
 /var/chef/cache/cookbooks/hashicorp-vault/recipes/default.rb:23:in `block in from_file'
 /var/chef/cache/cookbooks/hashicorp-vault/recipes/default.rb:18:in `from_file'
 /var/chef/cache/cookbooks/compat_resource/files/lib/chef_compat/monkeypatches/chef/run_context.rb:347:in `load_recipe'
 /var/chef/cache/cookbooks/compat_resource/files/lib/chef_compat/monkeypatches/chef/run_context.rb:303:in `block in include_recipe'
 /var/chef/cache/cookbooks/compat_resource/files/lib/chef_compat/monkeypatches/chef/run_context.rb:302:in `each'
 /var/chef/cache/cookbooks/compat_resource/files/lib/chef_compat/monkeypatches/chef/run_context.rb:302:in `include_recipe'
 /var/chef/cache/cookbooks/vault-cluster/recipes/default.rb:35:in `from_file'
 /var/chef/cache/cookbooks/compat_resource/files/lib/chef_compat/monkeypatches/chef/run_context.rb:347:in `load_recipe'

Can someone tell me what the NoMethodError is about? I've been doing research in the forums. I know once possibility is the chef client version I'm using, but I don't think that's the problem (using chef version 12.15.19).

Thanks,

jon

Which version of the hashicorp-vault cookbook are you using? It seems that in older versions of this cookbook they had this bag_item attribute which was removed in newer ones.