Why do we maintain 2 kitchen configuration?

I’m new to Chef and trying to grasp the best practices of kitchen. I’ve been observing the community cookbooks practice where in majority it maintains:

• kitchen.yml
  • kitchen.docker.yml

My assumption is, kitchen.yml is maintained for workstation development, while kitchen.docker.yml is maintained for Travis CI.

My question is, why don’t we use docker in workstation development as well and just maintain one kitchen configuration?

Getting Docker set up on Mac and Windows machines has historically been more difficult than VirtualBox, whereas most CI infrastructure is already running on Linux. This has improved in the last year or so, but boilerplate changes slowly. Personally I run kitchen-docker for everything but I’m the maintainer so probably a tad biased.

This brings up a related question, on the subject of kitchen-docker… I know that kitchen-docker isn’t included in ChefDK, but I noticed the other day that kitchen-dokken is. I read up a bit about Dokken and it seems like it’s a more Docker focused solution to test-kitchen, where kitchen-docker basically operates the same way that other plugins like EC2 do. I briefly tried converting over to kitchen-dokken, but it requires a bit more in the way of configuration than kitchen-docker does, as it has its own busser and such. Does anyone know of a good conversion guide between the two setups?

Nathan Clemons
DevOps Engineer
Moxie Cloud Services (MCS)

O +1.425.467.5075
M +1.360.861.6291
E nclemons@gomoxie.com
W www.gomoxie.comhttp://www.gomoxie.com/

Historically docker didn’t support centos-5 well either, and probably still doesn’t support freebsd while we’ve got vagrant boxes for that? We also need to test some cookbooks against Windows and Solaris and have private vagrant boxes in vagrant cloud for testing those.