Build linux installer using Chef

I am newbie to CHEF. I started learning Chef as I have to build installation package for Linux like MSI for Windows. I know CHEF can automate service and push the changes to nodes like Puppet, but i have not seen any article or guide for building Linux installation package using Chef. It would be better if there are any link that guide me through the process of building an installer like MSI.

Technically Habitat is supposed to be the packaging solution Chef recommends (for both Linux and Windows). You might want to look into it. They just recently added support for windows.

For Windows packaging/installers, I would recommend learning Wix if Habitat doesn’t meet your needs. This is the language Microsoft uses to create Windows Installers. Nick Ramirez wrote a good book on the topic “WiX 3.6: A Developer’s Guide to Windows Installer XML” (unlike most Packt books, this one is good and covers the topic well. I would say the first edition is better than the update, but they are both good).

Thanks for your input. Is there any specific links for creating installer/package using Habitat for Linux? I started with https://learn.chef.io/modules/hab-patch-source#/ for Habitat. In my case,we are building an analytic application. As a part of final deployment we are planning to install the application using an installer tool.Need to create an installer package like MSI for installing the application in Linux environment.

Food for thought… if you want to just create an installation package for
specific flavor of Linux, you may want to build a native package for it.

For example, build a Debian based package with the tools and guidance
outlined here:
https://wiki.debian.org/HowToPackageForDebian

Once the base software is packaged in this way, then you can use the simple
chef methods for orchestrating the installation alongside the installation
of any other package dependencies.