ChefDK, VMWare and MacOSX Crashing

Hello all,

I hope you can help. I'm new to Chef and have been learning on a virtualized MacOS 10.13 (High Sierra) machine running on VMWare vSphere 6.7.0. I've pulled the latest version of ChefDK 14.4.56 using Homebrew.

When I run 'sudo chef-client' locally (-z) or via bootstrap from my workstation using 'knife bootstrap --sudo', the first attempt works as intended. However, every subsequent run causes the VM to reboot itself. The system logs indicate a kernel panic, this issue is repeatable.

I've started with a fresh install of macos 10.13 on a new VM, and have have restarted the host. I'm at my end with regards to troubleshooting this issue and haven't seen any threads via Google of other having this issue.

Has the community seen this issue before? Are there are any insights or assistance you can provide?

Many thanks!
R. Alcazar

Since the initial run of chef-client is working as expected (or at least does not crash) I would look at any code in the cookbooks that are run and examine any code that is not a chef resource. The custom code (ruby blocks, shell scripts, etc.) is a source of non-idempotent actions. This is where I would look first.

The quick feedback is appreciated.

Actually, when I run 'sudo chef-client' I do not pass any recipe/cookbook. I'm only using 'sudo chef-client' and 'knife bootstrap' to exclude any issues related to recipes.

The cookbooks it will run are usually defined in the runlist that was defined when the node was bootstrapped, it can also be defined in the environment attributes. Try a "chef-client -W" and see what behavior you see. Can you post the output from "chef-client" when you experience a crash.

The results of 'sudo chef-client -W' are below. The first run was successful, the 2nd run immediately after caused the VM to reboot.

Ricardos-Mac:~ ralcazar$ sudo chef-client -W
Password:
Starting Chef Client, version 14.4.56
resolving cookbooks for run list: []
Synchronizing Cookbooks: